Faculty Assembly

Education Committee

Purpose: The purpose of the Education Committee is to provide faculty and the College with a formal process to lead and guide all education-related aspects of the College of Public Health in order to insure and promote a quality learning experience for all students.

Structure: The Education Committee shall be comprised of three (3) faculty members from each concentration functional group. The term “concentration functional group” in this section is used to include all existing College Graduate Program concentrations that have been aligned by faculty into assemblies of related focus and interests, and the Undergraduate Program.

Each concentration functional group will have one voting member, the Primary member, and two additional non-voting members. The latter two members will serve on either the Education Work Group or the Technology and Assessment Work Group. Members will be elected under the procedures established by the directors of the concentrations that comprise each concentration functional group, and the Primary member must have substantial experience in educational matters. The Primary member typically will be the chair of the education committee of the concentration functional group. 

Duties of the Committee:
  • Review and approve new and revised degree programs, concentrations, courses, certificates, and other items related to instruction/learning, which originate within the College, or in which the College participates with other entities.
  • Review and monitor the current degree programs, concentrations, courses, certificates, educational methods, and other items related to instruction/learning of the College to insure quality and, appropriateness of content.
  • Review and monitor all procedure, practices, and outcomes that affect any aspect of education at the College.
  • Approve, monitor, coordinate, and promote interdisciplinary academic programs.
  • Approve, monitor, coordinate, and promote experiential-based curriculum requirements.
  • Approve, monitor, coordinate, and promote culminating experience requirements.
  • Review and approve education-related technology, and associated standards for delivering quality instruction.
  • Develop, approve, and monitor reviews of student performance.
  • Oversee periodic reviews of academic quality of programs, concentrations, and courses   as a means of providing ongoing evaluation to assist in program improvement and in meeting the standards set by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), the Council for Education in Public Health (CEPH), and other accrediting bodies.

Duties of the Workgroups:

  • The Curriculum Work Group provides oversight and recommendations to the Education Committee regarding graduate and undergraduate degree programs, concentrations, courses, certificates, and other items related to instruction/learning, and performs other duties as determined by the Chair.
  • The Technology and Assessment Work Group provides oversight, review and recommendations to the Education Committee regarding educational technology, and educational outcomes. This includes evaluating the effectiveness of integrating technology into learning models and formats, the quality of standards for delivering content, student performance metrics, and other matters that pertain to academic rigor and effectiveness.

(extracted from the College of Public Health Governance Manual)


Primary Members:  Concentration Functional Group:  Phone: E-Mail
Steve Mlynarek (chair) EOH 974-6628 spm@usf.edu
Cheryl Vamos CFH 974-7515
Chighaf Bakour EPB ETA WG 974-0993 cbakour@usf.edu
Jaime Corvin GH 974-8506 jcorvin1@usf.edu
Etienne Pracht; Barbara Orban
HPM 974-7609 / 974-0346
epracht@usf.edu / borban@usf.edu
Alison Oberne UG 974-4246 aoberne@usf.edu

Associate Members:  Concentration Functional Group: WG = WorkGroup Phone: E-Mail
Alicia Best CFH Education WG 974-5290 abest@usf.edu
Anna Armstrong CFH ETA WG 974-7594 amarmstrong@usf.edu
Skai Schwartz EPB Education WG 974-6679 sschwar2@usf.edu
Chighaf Bakour EPB ETA WG 974-0993 cbakour@usf.edu
Steve Mlynarek EOH Education WG 974-6628 spm@usf.edu
Rene Salazar EOH ETA WG 974-9623 rsalazar@usf.edu
Donna Haiduven GH ETA WG 974-6472 dhaiduve@usf.edu
Ismael Hoare GH Education WG 974-7162 ihoare@usf.edu
Jacqueline Wiltshire  HPM Education WG      974-6654  jcwiltshire@usf.edu 
Jacqueline Wiltshire HPM ETA WG 974-6654 jcwiltshire@usf.edu
Laura Rusnak UG Education WG 974-9598 lrusnak@usf.edu
Matawal Makut UG ETA WG 974-9372


Other:  Concentration Functional Group: Phone: E-Mail
Adriana Campos Student - PhD GLH/EPI - elba@usf.edu
Marlene Joannie Bewa
Student - PhD CFH - mjbewa@usf.edu
Sandhya Srinivasan ETA 974-8911 ssriniva@usf.edu
Janice Zgibor Administration 974-6277  jzgibor@usf.edu
David Hogeboom Admin Support 974-6702 hogeboom@usf.edu
Rebecca Wood Admin Support 974-0531 rebeccawood@usf.edu
Jessica Grossman Admin Support 974-1587 jlp@usf.edu
Sheri-Lee Shakes 
Admin Support  974-6494  shakess@usf.edu 
Kamala Dontamsetti   Admin Support
974-8874   kamalad@usf.edu  
Kelly Graff   Admin Advisor
974-2294   kelleygraff@usf.edu 
Tricia Penniecook   Administration
974-2428   tpenniec@usf.edu  
  Annette Strzelecki Admin Advisor
974-9135   amanson@usf.edu
Kay Perrin   Administration 
974-6704   kperrin@usf.edu  
Cathy Silva   Admin Support   -

Curriculum Submission Information:

Instructions for new or changed curriculum proposals

Committee Members Only:

Box (curriculum proposals documentation)

Meeting Agenda and Minutes