Faculty Assembly

Education Committee

Purpose: The purpose of the Education Committee is to provide faculty and the College with a formal process to lead and guide all education-related aspects of the College of Public Health in order to insure and promote a quality learning experience for all students.

Structure: The Education Committee shall be comprised of three (3) faculty members from each concentration functional group. The term “concentration functional group” in this section is used to include all existing College Graduate Program concentrations that have been aligned by faculty into assemblies of related focus and interests, and the Undergraduate Program.

Each concentration functional group will have one voting member, the Primary member, and two additional non-voting members. The latter two members will serve on either the Education Work Group or the Technology and Assessment Work Group. Members will be elected under the procedures established by the directors of the concentrations that comprise each concentration functional group, and the Primary member must have substantial experience in educational matters. The Primary member typically will be the chair of the education committee of the concentration functional group. 

Duties of the Committee:
  • Review and approve new and revised degree programs, concentrations, courses, certificates, and other items related to instruction/learning, which originate within the College, or in which the College participates with other entities.
  • Review and monitor the current degree programs, concentrations, courses, certificates, educational methods, and other items related to instruction/learning of the College to insure quality and, appropriateness of content.
  • Review and monitor all procedure, practices, and outcomes that affect any aspect of education at the College.
  • Approve, monitor, coordinate, and promote interdisciplinary academic programs.
  • Approve, monitor, coordinate, and promote experiential-based curriculum requirements.
  • Approve, monitor, coordinate, and promote culminating experience requirements.
  • Review and approve education-related technology, and associated standards for delivering quality instruction.
  • Develop, approve, and monitor reviews of student performance.
  • Oversee periodic reviews of academic quality of programs, concentrations, and courses   as a means of providing ongoing evaluation to assist in program improvement and in meeting the standards set by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), the Council for Education in Public Health (CEPH), and other accrediting bodies.

Duties of the Workgroups:

  • The Curriculum Work Group provides oversight and recommendations to the Education Committee regarding graduate and undergraduate degree programs, concentrations, courses, certificates, and other items related to instruction/learning, and performs other duties as determined by the Chair.
  • The Technology and Assessment Work Group provides oversight, review and recommendations to the Education Committee regarding educational technology, and educational outcomes. This includes evaluating the effectiveness of integrating technology into learning models and formats, the quality of standards for delivering content, student performance metrics, and other matters that pertain to academic rigor and effectiveness.

(extracted from the College of Public Health Governance Manual)

Members:

Primary Members:  Concentration Functional Group:  Phone: E-Mail
Steve Mlynarek (chair) EOH 974-6628 smlynare@health.usf.edu
Karen Liller CFH 974-7047 kliller@health.usf.edu
Janice Zgibor EPB 974-6277 jzgibor@health.usf.edu
Jaime Corvin GH 974-8506 jcorvin1@health.usf.edu
Etienne Pracht HPM 974-7609 epracht@health.usf.edu
Alison Oberne UG 974-4246 aoberne@health.usf.edu


Associate Members:  Concentration Functional Group: WG = WorkGroup Phone: E-Mail
Alicia Best CFH Education WG 974-5290 abest@health.usf.edu
Anna Armstrong CFH ETA WG 974-7594 amarmstrong@health.usf.edu
Skai Schwartz EPB Education WG 974-6679 sschwart@health.usf.edu
Wei Wang EPB ETA WG 974-6978 wwang@health.usf.edu
Foday Jaward EOH Education WG 396-9431 fjaward@health.usf.edu
Rene Salazar EOH ETA WG 974-9623 rsalaza5@health.usf.edu
Donna Haiduven GH ETA WG 974-6472 dhaiduve@health.usf.edu
Ismael Hoare GH Education WG 974-7162 ihoare@health.usf.edu
Zachary Pruitt HPM Education WG 974-6654 zpruitt1@health.usf.edu
Jacqueline Wiltshire HPM ETA WG 974-6654 jwiltshi@health.usf.edu
Laura Rusnak UG Education WG 974-9598 lrusnak@health.usf.edu
Matawal Makut UG ETA WG 974-9372

matawal@health.usf.edu


Other:  Concentration Functional Group: Phone: E-Mail
Stacy Griner Student - PhD CFH - staceygriner@health.usf.edu
Marlene Joannie Bewa
Student - MPH HPM - mjbewa@health.usf.edu
Sandhya Srinivasan ETA 974-8911 ssriniva@health.usf.edu
Kay Perrin Administration 974-6704  kperrin@health.usf.edu
David Hogeboom Admin Support 974-6702 hogeboom@health.usf.edu
Tara Greer Admin Support 974-5031 tgreer@health.usf.edu
Cathy Silva EOH Admin Support 974-3144 csilva1@health.usf.edu
Jessica Grossman Admin Support 974-1587 jgrossma@health.usf.edu

Curriculum Submission Information:

Instructions for new or changed curriculum proposals

Committee Members Only:

Box (curriculum proposals documentation)



Meeting Agenda and Minutes