Allergy and Immunology, Department of Internal Medicine

Welcome to the Division of Allergy & Immunology


The USF Health Department of Internal Medicine Divisions of Allergy and Immunology Host the 2023 Symposium

Join us for the Allergy and Immunology & Rhinoscopy Hands-On Workshop

Event Date: January 20, 2023
End Date: January 21, 2023

Begin Time: 7:30 AM
End Time: 6:30 PM

Location :CAMLS
124 S Franklin St, Tampa, FL 33602

Click here for more information and to view event flyer with details. 



The mission of the Division of Allergy and Immunology is to:

  • Provide outstanding care to patients with allergic and immunologic diseases
  • Train students, residents, and fellows in the specialty of allergy and immunology
  • Conduct basic and clinical research in allergy, asthma, and immunology


Patient care and training of physicians is done in partnership with the following local hospitals.

Division History

The Division of Allergy and Immunology was established in 1972 by Professor Samuel C. Bukantz, M.D. Professor Bukantz recruited Richard F. Lockey, M.D. in 1973 as a second faculty member. In 1977 they established the Clinical Research unit and the allergist/immunologist training program for physicians.

In 1983 Dr. Lockey became the director of the Division. In 1997 the Division was endowed by Mrs. Joy McCann Culverhouse and the Joy McCann Culverhouse Airway Disease Research Center was dedicated in February 1998. George and Sandy Simmons endowed the Division in (DATE?) In December, 2016, the Division was awarded the distinct honor of being selected as a World Allergy Organization (WAO) Center of Excellence for the 2016-2019 term. The Division is one of eight Centers of Excellence throughout the world.

Since it’s establishment, the Division has trained over 130 allergists/immunologists and numerous American and foreign post-graduate and graduate research scholars, many of whom are now faculty members in academic centers throughout the world.

Check out the Division Newsletter Archive