Please note that Internet Explorer is incompatible with this site.

We recommend upgrading to the latest Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, or Firefox.

Skip to Main Content


Department of Neurology

Alfred Frontera, MD

Alfred Frontera, MD

Assoc Professor, College of Medicine Neurology

Contact Info 12901 Bruce B. Downs Blvd
Tampa FL 33612

Academic Email:

Academic Phone:(813) 974-3541


  • MD, Medicine, Suny Buffalo, 2003
  • BA, Biology, Harvard University, 1998

Research Interests

  • Non-convulsive Status Epilepticus
  • EEG Monitoring in Critically Ill Patients

Recent Publications

  • Rehman R, Everhart A, Frontera AT, Kelly PR, Lopez M, Riley D, Sajan S, Schooff DM, Tran TT, Husain AM. Implementation of an established algorithm and modifications for the identification of epilepsy patients in the veterans health administration. Epilepsy research. 127: 284-290, 2016.
  • Osborn KE, Shytle RD, Frontera AT, Soble JR, Schoenberg MR. Addressing potential role of magnesium dyshomeostasis to improve treatment efficacy for epilepsy: A reexamination of the literature. Journal of clinical pharmacology. , 2015.
  • Heekin RD, Catalano MC, Frontera AT, Catalano G. Anti-NMDA Receptor Encephalitis in a Patient with Previous Psychosis and Neurological Abnormalities: A Diagnostic Challenge. Case reports in psychiatry. 2015: 253891, 2015.
  • Rong L, Frontera AT, Benbadis SR. Tobacco smoking, epilepsy, and seizures. Epilepsy & behavior : E&B. 31: 210-8, 2014.
  • Kister I, Chamot E, Bacon JH, Cutter G, Herbert J. Trend for decreasing Multiple Sclerosis Severity Scores (MSSS) with increasing calendar year of enrollment into the New York State Multiple Sclerosis Consortium. Multiple sclerosis (Houndmills, Basingstoke, England). 17(6) : 725-33, 2011.
  • Schoenberg MR, Frontera AT, Bozorg A, Hernandez-Frau P, Vale F, Benbadis SR. An update on epilepsy. Expert review of neurotherapeutics. 11(5) : 639-45, 2011.
  • Frontera AT Muniz . The Clinical and Electroencephalographic Manifestations of Status Epilepticus E-medicine. , 2010.