USF Genomics

USF One Health Codeathon


Presentation at the Codeathon in front of the group (2019)

The USF One Health Codeathon is an annual event hosted by the USF Omics Hub that allows individuals from across different disciplines come together to solve a problem using coding and team work to build a project and write a manuscript that could potentially result in a publication. The Codeathon last for 3 days. See stories below from Please view Codeathon stories below.

Codeathon 2022 Highlights

Codeathon 2022: First place Winners Team 3A (Rareform)

Team 3A (Rareform) led by Dr. Awtum Brashear from the Liwang Cui lab, and Dr. Deborah Cragun the Director of the Genetic Counseling MSPH took home first place in the second online edition of the USF One Health Codeathon. The interest in the event reached new heights. The easily accessible online platform has allowed for attendants from as far as Arizona State University participate in the Codeathon. Ten teams total, the most in the history of the USF codeathon in a collaborative effort to tackle rare and neglected diseases using bioinformatics and cross-disciplinary approaches.  

The USF One Health Codeathon will return to an in-person format in 2023


codeathon winners posing for pictures 

Team 3A (Rareform) Posing for a group picture. First Place in the 2022 codeathon 


Pictured: Deborah Cragun, Awtum Brashear, Sara Stubben, Chang Li and Motahareh Pourbehzadi


Not Pictured: Mirshokhid Okilbekov and David Enoma

Second Place: Team 1A

Led by: Thomas Keller, Blanca Camoretti-Mercado

Team Members Pictured: Meredith Olson and William Namm




Group of people at their desks looking into their web cameras

Team 1A Pictured: Thomas Keller, Blanca Camoretti-Mercado, William Namm and Meredith Olson

Third place: Team 5B 

Led by: Abdulmelik Mohammed, Stephan Villavicencio

Team Members: Lina Fajardo Gomez, Laura Borgerding, Stephan Villavicencio, Kevin Nuño, Abdulmelik Mohammed 



Team members looking at their webcameras smiling

Team 5B Pictured: Lina Fajardo Gomes, Laura Borgerding, Stephan Villavicencio, Kevin Nuño, Abdulmelik Mohammed

Team 1B

Led by: Ming Ji and Angel Luis Fernandez Robles 

Team Members: Parisa Karimzadeh, Adhithyan Rangarajan, and Marangelie Criado Marrero

Team 1b looking at their web cameras

Team 1B Pictured: Ming Ji, Marangelie Criado Marrero, Adhithyan Rangarajan, and Parisa Karimzadeh 

Not Pictured: Angel Luis Robles Fernandez 

Team 3B (Slimy)

Led by: Swamy Rakesh Adapa and Maureen Groer

Team Members: Brandon Ramsey, Nisha VijayaKumar, Kok Cheng Tan, and Elena Valkanova

Team 3b looking into their webcameras


Team 3B Pictured: Kok Cheng Tan, Elena Valkanova, and Swamy Rakesh Adapa

Not Pictured: Brandon Ramsey, Maureen Groer, Nisha Vijayakumar

Team 4A

Led By: Anujit Sarkar and Yibo Dong

Team members: Ojas Natarajan and Jean Lim

Team 4A member looking into their web cameras

Team 4B Pictured: Jean Lim, Anujit Sarkar, Yibo Dong, and Ojas Natarajan

Team 4B 

Led By: Ryan McMinds and Stephanie Rosales, 

Team Members: Stephanie Suarez, Jefferson Taylor and Sasha Post

Team 4b looking at their cameras and one person with camera off

Team 4B Pictured: Stephanie Suarez, Ryan McMinds, Jefferson Taylor, and Stephanie Rosales 

Not Pictured: Sasha Post 

Team 5A 

Led by: Justin Gibbons 

Team members: Linh Duong and Abhay Sobhanan

team 5A members smiling into their web cameras


Team 5A pictured: Justin Gibbons, Abhay Sobhanan and Linh Duong 

Team 2B

Led by: Agaz Wani


Team Members: Jan Dahrendorff, Hyacinth Burrowes, Xochitl Diaz

team 2b looking into camera

Team 2B Pictured: Hyacinth Burrowes, Xochitl Diaz, and Agaz Wani

Not Pictured: Jan Dahrendorff

Team 2A

Not Pictured 

Led by: Gloria Ferreira, Daniel McSkimming

Team members: McKenzie mcIntyre, Bingjie Wang, Olajumoke Ojeleye, Jinyong Pang, Eric Arnold

Codeathon News

Repositories from Previous Codeathons