Lawton & Rhea Chiles Center - Serving Women, Children & Families


Founding Director: Charles S. Mahan, M.D.

Charles S. Mahan

Dr. Charlie Mahan is Dean and Professor Emeritus in the College of Public Health at the University of South Florida and The Lawton and Rhea Chiles Center for Healthy Mothers and Babies. He holds a joint appointment as Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology in the USF College of Medicine. He serves as Interim President of the National Board of Public Health Examiners.

A West Virginian, he received his M.D. degree from Northwestern University and did his residency training at the University of Minnesota where he returned to join the faculty. He moved to Florida in 1974 to be Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Director of Ambulatory Services for Women at the University of Florida and Director of the North Central Florida Maternal and Infant Care Program.

He directed the State Health Department in Florida from 1988 to 1995 and was Dean of the College of Public Health at the University of South Florida from 1995 to 2002.

He was elected to the Academy of Distinguished Alumni of West Virginia University and presented the Byford Outstanding Alumnus Award by Northwestern University Medical School. He has also been presented the Irwin Chabon Award by Lamaze International and the 2004 Martha May Eliot Award by the American Public Health Association for exceptional achievements in maternal and child health. He was the Florida March of Dimes Statewide Volunteer of the Year in 2006. He is Past President of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials and Chair of the Advisory Committee to the Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention from 1997-2003. He is on the Board of Directors of the Frontier Nursing Service, the National Perinatal Information Center and The Ounce of Prevention Fund of Florida. He also serves as statewide chairperson for the March of Dimes Florida Prematurity Prevention Campaign. He chairs the selection committee for the Blue Foundation’s annual Sapphire Award. He is also on the National HPV Vaccine Advisory Board for the Merck Company.