Office of Graduate Programs

Academic Common Market

If you reside in one of the 16 states that are members of the Southern Regional Educational Board (SREB) then you are eligible to apply for in-state tuition. The member states include Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. Residents from non-SREB states are not eligible to apply to Academic Common Market. 

The purpose of the Academic Common Market (ACM) is to provide programs of study to graduate students that are not available in their home state. The student must first be accepted for admission by following the normal admission procedure at the University of South Florida. The student must be accepted as a degree-seeking student in the specified major with a regular admission status. Students with a provisional or non-degree-seeking status at the institution are ineligible for ACM participation. Once your application is processed and you have been admitted to USF, then contact the education commission or council in your state to submit your request to be considered as an Academic Common Market student. 

To obtain information for participating states, please visit the Southern Regional Education Board.  

Frequently Asked Questions can be found online