

## The Samuel C. Bukantz, MD, USF Allergy / Immunology Outstanding Research / Achievement Award

2020 Award Winner, Robert P. Nelson MD, Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics, Division of Hematology/Oncology, Indiana University School of Medicine.

Dr. Robert P. Nelson is Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics, Division of Hematology/Oncology, Indiana University School of Medicine. In that capacity, he directs the primary immunodeficiency clinic at the University and the Rowley Hospital for Children, Indiana University Health.

Dr. Nelson served as a resident and chief resident in Internal Medicine at the University of South Florida College of Medicine, 1985 – 1987, and subsequently completed a 2-year fellowship in Allergy and Immunology, Department of Internal Medicine. He joined the Division's University of South Florida College of Medicine faculty as Assistant Professor in Internal Medicine and Pediatrics in 1988. He was instrumental in founding the first immunodeficiency clinic at USF during the AIDS epidemic in the early 1980s. The establishment of this clinic to take care of HIV patients was controversial. With due diligence, the clinic began after six months and was named "The USF Immunodeficiency Clinic". Dr. Nelson, along with Drs. Dennis K. Ledford and Richard F. Lockey, established this clinic, one of the first HIV clinics in the United States.

Subsequently, he left USF and joined the faculty at the University of Indiana College of Medicine. He has served in a variety of different capacities, both at USF and Indiana University, and is widely published. He has co-authored or authored over 160 peer-reviewed papers and received numerous research awards at both universities. He has written 26 book chapters and is recognized as an outstanding teacher, researcher and a physician's physician. He will be officially recognized at the next AAAAI Alumni Dinner.

Congratulations to Dr. Nelson from the USF Internal Medicine and Pediatric Divisions of Allergy and Immunology faculty



Alex Czachor, 3<sup>rd</sup> Year Medical Student, 2018 Enrique Fernandez-Caldas, PhD, 2018 Joseph D. Diaz, MD, 2019



Robert P. Nelson, MD