## 65th WEEKLY NEWSLETTER

## USF INTERNAL MEDICINE & PEDIATRIC DIVISIONS OF ALLERGY AND IMMUNOLOGY

Dennis K. Ledford, MD was recognized by the Florida Allergy Asthma and Immunology Society (FAAIS) during its annual meeting, July 16 – 18, 2021, Orlando, FL, for excellence in inspiring young physicians to join our specialty. Very much deserved and appreciated, for he is a true triple threat: teaching, research, and patient care. The best of the best!

Dick Lockey



Elvin Mendez, MD, Program Director, presenting Dr. Ledford's award to Richard F. Lockey, MD, at the 2021 FAAIS Annual Meeting



Dr. Lockey passing on the award to Dr. Ledford at the Monday morning Division Conference, VA, July 19, 2021.



The Florida Allergy, Asthma & Immunology Society

establishes the

Dennis &. Ledford, MD Medical Resident Education Award

Dr. Ledford has inspired and influenced numerous internal medicine residents to apply for allergy/immunology fellowships, who then went on to become excellent allergists. Likewise, many FAAIS members and leaders have him to thank for ultimately guiding them into their rewarding career-paths. It is because of his example, instruction, and dedication to the Specialty that allergists across the nation strive for a higher standard of excellence in their professional and personal lives. The FAAIS is not only grateful for his service but is truly honored to bolster education for Florida Internal Medicine and Pediatric residents through the Dennis K. Ledford, MD Medical Resident Education Award beginning July 2022 and continuing for many years to come.

July 17, 2021

Award presented to Dennis K. Ledford, MD, at the 2021 Florida Allergy, Asthma & Immunology Society Meeting, Orlando, FL, July 16 – 18, 2021.

With warm regards,

Richard F. Lockey, MD
Distinguished University Health Professor
Joy McCann Culverhouse Chair in Allergy
and Immunology
Professor of Medicine, Pediatrics & Public Health
Director, Division of Allergy and Immunology
Department of Internal Medicine

Jolan Walter, MD, PhD Robert A. Good Endowed Chair in Immunology Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine Chief, Division of Allergy and Immunology Department of Pediatrics