## USF Morsani College of Medicine Faculty Bylaws Proposed Amendment March 2013 (Final Approval June 25, 2013)

## Current Bylaws:

Article VIII: Administrative Committees

Section 3: Academic Performance Review Committee

The Academic Performance Review Committee (APRC) shall review the academic and clinical performance of each medical student and make recommendations to the Dean regarding graduation, advancement, probation, dismissal, remediation and readmission.

The Academic Performance Review Committee (APRC) shall be chaired by the Vice Dean for Education, or his or her designee, and shall be composed of the course directors of each course offered during the first two academic years, the clerkship director of each required clerkship including the director of each required clerkship at the Lehigh Valley Network Partnership Campus in years 3 and 4 of the curriculum and the senior administrative officer responsible for Student Affairs, who serves as an ex-officio, non-voting member.

## Proposed Revision as Recommended by Bylaws Committee March 2013:

**Article VIII: Administrative Committees** 

Section 3: Academic Performance Review Committee

The Academic Performance Review Committee (APRC) shall review the academic and clinical performance of each medical student and make recommendations to the Dean regarding graduation, advancement, probation, dismissal, remediation and readmission.

The Academic Performance Review Committee (APRC) shall be chaired by the Chief Academic Officer, or his or her designee, and shall be composed of all required Course/Clerkship Directors, including those for SELECT and those at LVHN. Voting members will be selected for one-year terms and include: Two (2) Year 1 Course Directors; Two (2) Year 2 Course Directors; One (1) Year 1 and 2 Pre-Clerkship Faculty Curriculum Director; Three (3) Year 3 Clerkship Directors in Tampa; Two (2) Year 3 Clerkship Directors at Lehigh Valley Health Network partnership (LVHN); One (1) Year 3 Clerkship Faculty Curriculum Director in Tampa; One (1) Year 3 Clerkship Council Chair at LVHN; and One (1) SELECT Program Pre-Clerkship Curriculum Director. All members should have a voting role during any two- to three-year cycle. When a voting member is not present, an alternate from the same year of the curriculum shall vote as designated. The Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education and the Associate Dean of Student Affairs will serve as ex-officio, non-voting members. All members, voting and non-voting, are expected to attend all APRC meetings in order to contribute to discussion, present students with a deficiency in their course/clerkship, and maintain familiarity with student progress for times when they need to vote.

Approved by Executive Council: 03/20/2013
Approved by Faculty Council: 05/10/2013
Approved by Core Faculty: 05/17/2013
Approved by Dean: 06/25/2013