Annual Report

USF COM Bylaws Committee

Academic Year 2013-14

The members of the Bylaws Committee for the 2013-14 academic year were (in alphabetical order): Orhan Arslan, Wenlong Bai, Michelle Estevez, Arzu Ilercil-Herweg, Adam Lewin, and Gina Musolino.

The Bylaws Committee of the College of Medicine has undertaken several initiatives this year. The first task was to address terms and timing of proposed term changes to the terms of the executive officers of the Faculty Council. The Committee proposed allowing the faculty to vote on approving the changes to terms of office and whether the changes go into effect for the present or subsequent year. Second, the committee approved changes to the Committee on Medical Student Selection (under Article VIII). Specifics included allowing for a faculty member with expertise in diversity/minority affairs to serve on the Committee rather than the current specification of the Associate Dean for Diversity/Minority Affairs. Additional changes regarding Dean's appointments, terms, and ex officio membership were added. Third, the Committee approved changes under Article IX to the Committee on Curriculum. Specifically, the Bylaws Committee approved changes to the Curriculum Committee as well as adding separate Curriculum Committees for Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Sciences and Athletic Training. Changes to the COM Committee on Curriculum included specifying inclusion of clerkship/preclerkship directors, and a chair from both a basic and clinical science department. Each of these proposed bylaws changes were approved by this Committee and forwarded to the faculty council for review. As I will be rotating off the Committee after this term, Dr. Wenlong Bai was elected chair for next year.

Respectively submitted on September 4, 2014 by,

Adam B. Lewin, Ph.D., ABPP Chair, Bylaws Committee USF COM