USF Morsani College of Medicine Faculty Bylaws Proposed Amendment August 2014

Article VIII: Administrative Committees
Section 2. Committee on Medical Student Selection

The Committee on Medical Student Selection shall review all applications for admission to the College and shall recommend to the Dean a list of candidates and alternate candidates for admission. The Committee shall also review and make recommendations concerning procedures by which applicants are screened, interviewed and selected.

The Committee shall be composed of seven-nine core clinical science faculty, five-seven core basic science faculty, the Associate Dean for Diversity/Minority Affairs and three-four faculty from the Lehigh Valley Network Partnership Campus to be nominated by the Faculty Council. The committee will also include a faculty member involved with diversity and minority affairs and up to three additional faculty members-at-large to be appointed by the Vice Dean for Educational Affairs. The committee will be supported by interviewers designated annually by the Vice Dean for Educational Affairs. The Medical Student Council in cooperation with the Associate Dean for Student Affairs selects four senior medical students; two are designated as voting members of the Committee and two are designated as alternates. The alternate representative members will be ex-officio non-voting members of the committee unless the active member(s) is (are) not in attendance. The Dean appoints the Committee Chairperson. Committee members (with the exception of the medical students) are appointed for three-year overlapping terms. The Associate Dean for Student Affairs shall be a non-voting ex-officio member of this committee.

Approved by Faculty Council: 08/26/14
Approved by Executive Council: 09/17/14
Approved by Core Faculty: 09/23/14
Approved by Dean: 09/26/14

USF Morsani College of Medicine Faculty Bylaws Proposed Amendment August 2014

Article IX: Policy Committees

Section 3: Committee on Curriculum

Current:

The Committee on Curriculum shall review, advise and make policy recommendations on matters related to undergraduate medical education and physical therapy education. This Committee shall develop, review and make policy recommendations regarding the curriculum and educational goals of the College and shall develop standards for the evaluation of teaching.

The Committee shall be composed of six members from basic science departments, six members from clinical science departments, two members from the Lehigh Valley Partnership Campus, and one member from the School of Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Sciences who have responsibilities for curriculum design and planning within their departments and a representative from the Student Council of the Morsani College of Medicine. Each core faculty member of the Committee shall serve for a term of three years. The three-year terms shall be staggered such that one-third of the core faculty members shall be replaced each year. The senior administrative officer(s) responsible for educational affairs (Vice Dean for Educational Affairs, Associate Deans for Undergraduate Medical Education and Physical Therapy Education), and the Presidents of the first, second, third, and fourth year Medical and first, second and third year Physical Therapy classes or their designates shall be non-voting exofficio members of this Committee.

Recommended:

The Committee on Curriculum shall advise the dean matters related to undergraduate medical education and physical therapy education. The committee shall develop, review, assess, and recommend changes to the content, curricular structure, learning environment, and educational goals of the UME program and shall evaluate the courses, curriculum, and program outcomes as a whole. It will update the faculty regularly on changes and program outcomes. It will also develop standards for the evaluation and improvement of teaching quality.

The Committee shall be composed of six members from basic science departments, six members from clinical science departments, two members from the Lehigh Valley Partnership Campus, and one member from the School of Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Sciences who have responsibilities for curriculum design and planning within their departments and a representative from the Student Council of the Morsani College of Medicine. Each core faculty member of the Committee shall serve for a term of three years. The three-year terms shall be staggered such that one-third of the core faculty members shall be replaced each year. The senior administrative officer(s) responsible for educational affairs (Vice Dean for Educational Affairs, Associate Deans for Undergraduate Medical Education and Physical Therapy Education), Director of Pre-clerkship Curriculum, Chair of Committee of Clerkship Directors, one Chair from a clinical department, one Chair from a basic science department and the Presidents

of the first, second, third, and fourth year Medical and first, second and third year Physical Therapy classes or their designates shall be non-voting ex-officio members of this Committee.

Approved by Faculty Council: 08/26/14
Approved by Executive Council: 09/17/14
Approved by Core Faculty: 09/23/14
Approved by Dean: 09/26/14