PHSA > Executive Board

Executive Board

2011 - 2012 Executive Board Members

Executive Board Positions:
PHSA has the following open executive board positions: Volunteer Chair and Event Committee Chair. Complete the attached application if you are interested in filling one of the positions. Please forward your completed application to Sheila Simon at ssimon@health.usf.edu.

Presidents:


Caitlin Gordon (cgordon1@health.usf.edu)

3rd year MPH- Global Health Disaster Management and Humanitarian Assistance Interests: Global Health, health disparities, women and children's health, disaster management... a lot of things!

I am from Virginia Beach but have lived in Tampa, FL since 2004 when I started my undergraduate at the University of Tampa where I got a BA in Sociology. I have two cats and a dog. I love listening to music, going dancing especially country line dancing and bachata, i love to travel




Vice President:


Briana Bryant (abryant3@mail.usf.edu)


2nd year Concentration: Public Health Education, with certificates in Health Policy and Management and Social Marketing Interests: Wellness, Nutrition, Obesity

I am from Valrico, FL, and have a Bachelor's degree in Marketing with a minor in public health from USF. I enjoy playing softball (or any sport really), being with friends, and trying new things. I hope to graduate in summer 2013.



Treasurer:


Christine Meister (cmeister@health.usf.edu)


2nd year MSPH Health Education Interests: Community and family violence, human trafficking, substance abuse

Hello All! I am from the Chicago suburbs and have a BS in Human Biology from Michigan State University—GO GREEN!! I love rollerblading, reading and spending time at the beach. I am a Master's International Peace Corps student (hopefully departing summer 2013) and will graduate upon my return from the Peace Corps in 2015.



Secretary:


Saba Rahman (srahman2@health.usf.edu)


2nd year MPH - Public Health Education Interests: Sexual and reproductive health, adolescent and college health

I am from West Palm Beach, FL, have a Bachelor of Science in Health Education from UF, and I love dancing salsa, baking, and spoiling my dog Sandy. I hope to graduate in the summer of 2013 and look forward to being a better health educator!



Public Relations:


Sheila Simon (ssimon@health.usf.edu)


3rd year dual MPH/MSW Concentration Maternal and Child Health Interests: Adolescent health, reproductive health, sexual health, health disparities and minority health

Hello. I was raised in Delray Beach, FL. I received a Bachelor's of Social Work degree from Florida State University (go Noles). After graduation, I hope to work with individuals, families, groups and communities.



Undergraduate Liaison:


Hailey Palmer (hpalmer@mail.usf.edu)


I am a Sophomore majoring in Public Health, and plan to get my masters with a concentration in Maternal and Child Health. I just recently decided to change my major from nursing to public health, all the different areas I can concentrate in really influenced my change in careers. I am very interested in all aspects of the health field but plan to combine my love for kids and love for health into one! I am planning a medical brigade in Honduras for the end of the semester and look forward to working with PHSA.




2010 - 2011 Executive Board Members

Co-Presidents:
Aditi Desai (adesai1@health.usf.edu)
Ashley Singleton (asingle3@health.usf.edu)

Vice President:
Megan McLaughlin (mmclaug1@health.usf.edu)

Public Relations Chair:
Mezelle Moore (mmoore1@health.usf.edu)

Secretary:
Stacey Owiti (sowiti@health.usf.edu)

Treasurer:
Yan An (yan@health.usf.edu)

Volunteer Committee Chair:
Alyssa Schmidt (aschmid3@health.usf.edu)


2009 - 2010 Executive Board Members

Co-Presidents:
Annie DeMuth (ademuth@health.usf.edu)
Sam Jones (sjones3@health.usf.edu)

Vice President:
Janus Patel (jpatel@health.usf.edu)

Secretary:
Pam Guevara (pguevara@health.usf.edu)


2008 - 2009 Executive Board Members

Co-Presidents:
Diana Lima (dlima@health.usf.edu)
Selina Radlein (sradlein@health.usf.edu)

Vice President:
Malveeka Sharma (msharma@health.usf.edu)

Secretary:
Jamila Ealey (jealey@health.usf.edu)

Treasurer:
Januskumar Patel ( jpatel@health.usf.edu)

Undergraduate Liaison:
Allison Nelson (apnelson@mail.usf.edu)

2007 - 2008 Executive Board Members

Co-Presidents:

Rosa Avila (ravila@health.usf.edu)
Courtney Delmar (cdelmar@health.usf.edu)

Vice President:
Malveeka Sharma (msharma@health.usf.edu)

Secretary:
Diana Lima (dlima@health.usf.edu)

Treasurer:
The Treasurer is a member of the PHSA Executive Board, will serve as a financial officer for PHSA, and will be responsible for conducting all monetary matters with the College of Public Health administration. This includes managing the budget and purchase orders of the association.

2005 - 2006 Executive Board Members

President: Alan Card (acard@hsc.usf.edu)








Vice-Pres: Sona Kundalkar (skundalk@hsc.usf.edu)Vice-Pres: Sona Kundalkar (skundalk@hsc.usf.edu)

Background: born in Los Angeles, CA and raised in South Florida

Education:
currently pursuing a Masters of Health Administration. Received her BE in biomedical engineering from Vanderbilt University.

Research Interests and/or Future Endeavors:Interested in being a manager of a biomedical engineering department of a health services organization.


Secretary: Kavitha Gudapati (kgudapat@hsc.usf.edu)Secretary: Kavitha Gudapati (kgudapat@hsc.usf.edu)

  • BIOGRAPHY:
    FULL NAME: KAVITHA GUDAPATI
  • Background: India. Lived in US for more than 5 years
  • Education: BACHELORS IN BIOLOGICAL COMPUTATION, St.Francis Degree College, India.
                     MASTERS IN HEALTH ADMINSTRATION, COPH, USF.
  • Hobbies/Talents: Computers, Cooking, Painting and music.
  • Favorite Quote: Live and Let Live


destinTreasurer: Lindsey Childs (lchilds@hsc.usf.edu)

  • Background: born and raised in Gulf Breeze/Pensacola, Florida; works at the VA Hospital in the Medical Education Office.
  • Education: currently pursuing a MPH in Global Health with a Clinical
  • Epidemiology certificate.  Received her BS in Chemisty and BA in Spanish with a Math minor from Tulane University.
  • Research Interests and/or Future Endeavors: Interested in Sexually Transmitted Infections and in infectious diseases generally.
  • Hobbies and/or Talent: High School State Champion Basketball player, loves dancing, traveling, watching sports, and spending time with family and friends.
  • Favorite Quote or Quirk: "Everyone has the power to change the lives of others.  It's just a question of whether or not they use it." -Dawson's Creek

2004 - 2005 Executive Board Members

3
Joyonna Gamble-George, President jgambleg@hsc.usf.edu

  • Background : a native Floridian; raised in Alabama ; works as a research assistant in the Department of Health Policy and Management on quality management case studies
  • Education : currently pursuing a MHA in Health Administration; graduated from Xavier University of Louisiana in 2003 with a Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry and Biology/Pre-Medicine
  • Research Interests and/or Future Endeavors : interested in virology, particularly HIV and the herpes virus; hoping to pursue a career as a manager of a hospital or a clinician in the area of cardiology or neurology
  • Hobbies and/or Talents : drawing and painting, playing the piano and alto saxophone, writing poetry, and occasionally going to the beach or on road trips in spare time
  • Favorite Quote or Quirk : “The difference between the impossible and possible is one's determination.” - Anonymous

4
Ping Xu, Vice President pxu@hsc.usf.edu

  • Background : born and brought up in China ; works as a graduate assistant in the College of Medicine for Tampa Bay Youth Education Service
  • Education : currently pursuing a MPH from the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics with a concentration in Biostatistics; previously pursued a Masters degree in Instructional Technology Education at USF and completed vital courses in Information Technology and Computer Programming; graduated in1992 with a Bachelor of Arts in English Language from China
  • Research Interests and/or Future Endeavors : interested in HIV and health risk assessment, survival analysis, and population-based study design in health services research; aspire to become a statistician in the public health field or a statistics consultant
  • Hobbies and/or Talents : loves dancing, listening to classical music, swimming, and athletics
  • Favorite Quote or Quirk : “Youth is not a time of life. It is a state of mind. You are as old as your doubt, your fear, your despair. The way to keep young is to keep your faith young. Keep your self confidence young. Keep your hope young.” - Luella F. Phean

1
Lianne Fuino, Secretary lfuino@hsc.usf.edu

  • Background : a native New Yorker who is enjoying the more relaxed Florida lifestyle; works as a research assistant at the Harrell Center for the Study of Family Health on a project that helps families stabilize their lives after they leave domestic violence situations
  • Education : currently pursuing a MPH in the Department of Community and Family Health with a concentration in Maternal and Child Health; graduated from George Washington University in 2002 with a Bachelor of Arts in History of Medicine
  • Research Interests and/or Future Endeavors : in the future would like to design and implement prevention and early intervention programs for children in special populations, such as abused children or those with special health care needs
  • Hobbies and/or Talents : to relax, love going to the beach, cooking, watching movies, dancing, reading, and hanging out with my finance and friends
  • Favorite Quote or Quirk : “No day but today” - Anonymous

2
Emily Jolles, Treasurer ejolles@hsc.usf.edu

  • Background : raised in Richmond , Virginia ; her parents moved to Florida six years ago
  • Education : currently pursing a MPH in the Department of Community and Family Health with a concentration in Health Education; graduated from College of Charleston with a Bachelor of Arts in Spanish and minor in Health
  • Research Interests and/or Future Endeavors : interested in HIV and women's reproductive health.
  • Hobbies and/or Talents : cooking, reading, traveling, and hanging out with family and friends
  • Favorite Quote or Quirk : loves wearing flip flops

 

2003 - 2004 Executive Board Members

john
John Maldonado, President jmaldona@hsc.usf.edu

  • Background : a native Floridian
  • Education : currently pursuing a MSPH in Epidemiology; graduated from USF last December with a baccalaureate degree in interdisciplinary natural sciences
  • Research Interests and/or Future Endeavors : interested in exposure measurement; hope to direct career endeavors heavily towards research and focus on chronic human disorders in the state or private sector
  • Hobbies and/or Talents : playing racquetball and tennis, or occasionally painting
  • Favorite Quote or Quirk :

mohini
Mohini Persaud, Vice President mpersaud@hsc.usf.edu

  • Background : a New Yorker who moved to Florida more than two years ago; works as a data manager for Youth Education Services (Y.E.S.), an HIV/AIDS program within the College of Medicine , Department of Pediatrics Infectious Disease
  • Education : MPH in the Epidemiology and Biostatistics Department; graduated from Hunter College with a Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences
  • Research Interests and/or Future Endeavors :
  • Hobbies and/or Talents : visiting family in Plantation , reading, dancing, playing racquetball and soccer, and spending time with friends
  • Favorite Quote or Quirk:

kerry
Kerry-Anne Lee, Secretary klee1@hsc.usf.edu

  • Background : born and raised in Jamaica for 10 years; resided in Miami , Florida for the past 12 years; works as a research assistant in the Florida Policy Exchange Center on Aging at USF, dealing primarily with hospice and palliative care
  • Education : MPH in Epidemiology from USF College of Public Health; graduated from the University of Florida with a Bachelor of Science in Microbiology and Cell Science
  • Research Interests and/or Future Endeavors :
  • Hobbies and/or Talents : playing soccer with fellow graduate students, dancing, reading, or occasionally going on road trips
  • Favorite Quote or Quirk:

amy
Amy Gray, Treasurer agray@hsc.usf.edu

  • Background : serves as the USF Campus Liaison for the Public Health Student Caucus of APHA; works as a REACH Peer Educator in the Health Education office at USF Student Health Services and with CFH faculty on a HPV research study
  • Education : MPH in Health Education in the Department of Community and Family Health; graduated from the University of Arkansas in May 2002 with a Bachelor of Science in Health Science
  • Research Interests and/or Future Endeavors : interested in sexual and women's health
  • Hobbies and/or Talents : hanging out with friends, cooking, traveling, and listening to some great live music
  • Favorite Quote or Quirk: