Lab and Safety Committee
USF Health - College of Public Health

Structure: The committee shall be composed of a safety officer and a laboratory specialist appointed by the Dean, one student selected by the Public Health Student Association, and a faculty member selected from each department. The committee shall select one of the faculty members to serve as chairperson.

Functions and Duties:

  • Serves to oversee all issues pertaining to safety within the College of Public Health;
  • Identify potentially significant chemical, physical, and biological hazards, and makeappropriate recommendations for improvement; and
  • The safety officer shall oversee the training of laboratory personnel in chemical and biological hazard recognition and control measures to provide a safe laboratory environment.

(From Governance Manual page 10)

Members:

Chair, Safety Officer Ira Richards irichard@health.usf.edu

974-6630

Laboratory Specialist Angela Salem asalem@health.usf.edu

974-6715

Member Wei Wang wwang@health.usf.edu

974-8913

Member Martha Coulter mcoulter@health.usf.edu

974-6685

Member John Large jlarge@health.usf.edu

974-6647

Member Marie Bourgeois mbourgeo@health.usf.edu

974-6660

Member Azliyait Azizan aazizan@health.usf.edu

974-2079

Student Alison Abritis aabriti1@health.usf.edu  
Building Supervisor Michael Haywood mhaywood@health.usf.edu

974-6613

Meetings:

The Laboratory and Safety Committee does not have a regularly scheduled meeting date. Much of the work of the committee is accomplished by email from the Chair.

Minutes:

Jun 29, 2008

March 22, 2010

April 2, 2010

May 14, 2012

Note: Click Here to download the USF Chemical Hygiene Plan