Education Committee

Purpose: The purpose of the Education Committee is to provide faculty and departments with a formal process to lead and guide all education-related aspects of the College of Public Health in order to promote and insure a quality learning experience for all students. The term ‘department’ in this section is used to include the College departments and theUndergraduate Program.

Structure: The Education Committee shall be comprised of three (3) faculty members from each department: One (1) Senior member, and two (2) additional members. Members will be elected by departments and must have substantial experience in educational matters. The Senior member will typically be the chair of the department education committee.

Duties:
  • Reviews and approves new and revised degree programs, concentrations, courses, certificates, and other items related to instruction/learning, which originate within the College, or in which the College participates with other entities.
  • Reviews and monitors the current degree programs, concentrations, courses, certificates, educational methods, and other items related to instruction/learning of the College to insure quality and, appropriateness of content
  • Reviews and monitors all procedure, practices, and outcomes that affect any aspect of education at the College.
  • Approves, monitors, coordinates, and promotes interdisciplinary academic programs.
  • Approves, monitors, coordinates, and promotes experiential-based curriculum requirements.
  • Approves, monitors, coordinates, and promotes culminating experience requirements.
  • Reviews and approves education-related technology, and associated standards for delivering quality instruction.
  • Develops, approves, and monitors reviews of student performance.
  • Oversees periodic reviews of academic programs as a means of providing ongoing evaluation to assist in program improvement and in meeting the standards set by the Council for Education in Public Health (CEPH) and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS)

(From Governance Manual pages 7-9)

Members:

Primary Members: Department:  Phone: E-Mail
Steve Mlynarek (chair) EOH 974-6628 smlynare@health.usf.edu
Karen Liller CFH 974-7047 kliller@health.usf.edu
Janice Zgibor EPB 974-6277 jzgibor@health.usf.edu
Jaime Corvin GH 974-8506 jcorvin1@health.usf.edu
Etienne Pracht HPM 974-7609 epracht@health.usf.edu
Alison Oberne UG 974-4246 aoberne@health.usf.edu


Associate Members: Department: WG = WorkGroup Phone: E-Mail
Alicia Best CFH Education WG 974-5290 abest@health.usf.edu
Anna Armstrong CFH ETA WG 974-7594 amarmstrong@health.usf.edu
Skai Schwartz EPB Education WG 974-6679 sschwart@health.usf.edu
Wei Wang EPB ETA WG 974-6978 wwang@health.usf.edu
Foday Jaward EOH Education WG 396-9431 fjaward@health.usf.edu
Rene Salazar EOH ETA WG 974-9623 rsalaza5@health.usf.edu
Donna Haiduven GH Education WG 974-6472 dhaiduve@health.usf.edu
Ismael Hoare GH ETA WG 974-7162 ihoare@health.usf.edu
Zachary Pruitt HPM Education WG 974-6654 zpruitt1@health.usf.edu
Jacqueline Wiltshire HPM ETA WG 974-6654 jwiltshi@health.usf.edu
Laura Rusnak UG Education WG 974-9598 lrusnak@health.usf.edu
Matawal Makut UG ETA WG 974-9372

matawal@health.usf.edu


Other: Department: Phone: E-Mail
Stacy Griner Student - PhD CFH - staceygriner@health.usf.edu
Natasha Kurji Student - MPH HPM - nnkurji@health.usf.edu
Aldenise Ewing Student - PHSA alt - aewing2@health.usf.edu
Sandhya Srinivasan ETA 974-8911 ssriniva@health.usf.edu
Kay Perrin Administration 974-6704  kperrin@health.usf.edu
David Hogeboom Admin Support 974-6702 hogeboom@health.usf.edu
Tara Greer Admin Support 974-5031 tgreer@health.usf.edu
Cathy Silva EOH Admin Support 974-3144 csilva1@health.usf.edu
Barbara Kennedy Admin Support 974-5142 bkennedy@health.usf.edu

Minutes / Agenda:

Curriculum Submission Information:

Instructions for new or changed curriculum proposals

Committee Members Only:

Box (curriculum proposals documentation)


Connect with us!