Faculty Affairs > Faculty Affairs Committee

Faculty Affairs Committee

Purpose: The purpose of the Faculty Affairs Committee (FAC) is to recommend and oversee the implementation of procedures and programs designed to support faculty in the attainment of their professional goals while contributing to the mission and strategic goals of the College and University.

Structure: The Faculty Affairs Committee shall be made up of one professorial ranked faculty member from each department who is elected from within the departments and sufficient faculty members who are elected at large by the Faculty Assembly to maintain an uneven number of members numbering at least seven persons. The FAC members elect the Chair of the committee.

  1. Membership on the College Faculty Affairs Committee is limited to faculty who have been appointed to a professorial ranked position within the College for at least two years. Chairs and the Dean should neither vote nor participate on the Faculty Affairs Committee; this exclusion applies to assistant or associate chairs, or assistant or associate deans when they participate in the tenure and promotion process in support of, or as delegated by chairs, or the Dean.
  2. Only those committee members who have received tenure at the University of South Florida will be eligible to review and make recommendations on tenure applications.
  3. Committee members on tenure-track positions may review and make recommendations on all applications for promotion from faculty, regardless of track, who are appointed at a rank lower than that of the committee member.
  4. Committee members on non-tenure track positions may review and make recommendations on applications for promotion from non-tenure track faculty who are appointed at a rank lower than that of the committee member.
  5. If faculty serving on the College Faculty Affairs committee are on assignments or leaves of absence away from the department and/or college such as sabbaticals, fellowships, Fulbrights, etc., for more than four consecutive weeks, departments will elect someone to serve as an alternate member until he or she returns.
  6. The committee members and chair shall be elected and serve in accordance with Article VII 1.a. and 1.b. above.
  7. If possible, individuals should not serve on the department APT and College Faculty Affairs committees. However, if individuals serve on more than one committee (e.g. department and College) they should vote on APT matters at one level or the other, not both. The level at which an individual will vote should be determined and documented prior to the beginning of the annual promotion and tenure process and will apply to all applicants.

Functions and Duties:

The Faculty Affairs Committee advises the Dean on matters related to the faculty in the College. Specific duties include, but are not limited to:
  1. Recommend College criteria and procedures for appointment, promotion and tenure in accordance with the University Promotion and Tenure Guidelines.
  2. Recommend College procedures and programs to support faculty development and success such as peer review of teaching, mentoring, evaluations, etc.
  3. Participate in the annual promotion and tenure process and make recommendations r regarding applications for promotion and tenure.
  4. Participate in the annual mid-tenure and mid-promotion process and provide written feedback to applicants with regard to their progress toward tenure and/or promotion.
  5. Recommend to the Dean rank and tenure status for proposed appointments to the faculty in accordance with the COPH APT Guidelines.
  6. Recommend faculty for honors and awards in accordance with University and USF Health policies and procedures.
  7. Recommend faculty for sabbaticals in accordance with University and USF Health policies and procedures.
  8. Facilitate understanding of the College Appointment, Promotion and Tenure Guidelines (APT Guidelines) among College faculty.
  9. Advise the Dean with regard to disputes, grievances and discipline and other faculty related matters upon request.

(From Governance Manual page 10)


Name Department E-Mail Phone
Marti Coulter (Chair) CFH mcoulter@health.usf.edu 974-7829
Yehia Hammad EOH yhammad@health.usf.edu 974-6625
Etienne Pracht HPM epracht@health.usf.edu 974-7609
Karen Liller CFH kliller@health.usf.edu 974-7047
Getachew Dagne EPB gdagne@health.usf.edu 974-6680
Tom Mason EOH tmason@health.usf.edu 974-6675
Dennis Kyle GH dkyle@health.usf.edu 974-9065
John Adams GH jadams3@health.usf.edu 974-9916
Jay Wolfson EOH jwolfson@health.usf.edu 974-6643