Faculty and Staff

Our Providers

Akhil Maheshwari, MD
Professor of Pediatrics, Molecular Medicine, and Public Health
Pamela and Leslie Muma Endowed Chair in Neonatology
Chief, Division of Neonatology
Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Education
Tampa General Hospital NICU Director

akhilm@health.usf.edu
Terri L. Ashmeade, MD
Associate Professor
Chief Quality Officer, USF Health

tashmead@health.usf.edu
Maya Balakrishnan, MD
Assistant Professor
TGH Neonatal Transport Director

mbalakri@health.usf.edu
Jane D. Carver, PhD, MS, MPH
Professor

jcarver@health.usf.edu
Jaime Flores-Torres, MD
Assistant Professor

jflorest@health.usf.edu
  Ben Torres, MD
Associate Professor


torresb@health.usf.edu
Michael Fant, MD, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics
Pathology & Cell Biology
Director, Neonatal-Perinatal Fellowship Program

mfant@health.usf.edu
Thao (Tina) Ho, MD
Assistant Professor

thaoho@health.usf.edu
Russell S. Kirby, PhD, MS
Marrell Endowed Chair
Professor of Community & Family Health and Pediatrics
Director, Florida Birth Defects Registry

rkirby@health.usf.edu

Nurse Practitioners

Research and Administrative Staff

Judy Zaritt, RN, BSN, CCRC
Certified Clinical Research Coordinator
813-844-3046

jzaritt@health.usf.edu
  Marcia Kneusel, RNC
Research Nurse

mkneusel@health.usf.edu
  Stephanie Helms
Fellowship Coordinator
813-844-3437

shelms@health.usf.edu 
br