Faculty and Staff

Our Providers

Akhil Maheshwari, MD
Professor of Pediatrics, Molecular Medicine, and Public Health
Pamela and Leslie Muma Endowed Chair in Neonatology
Chief, Division of Neonatology
Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Education
Tampa General Hospital NICU Director

akhilm@health.usf.edu
Terri L. Ashmeade, MD
Associate Professor
Chief Quality Officer, USF Health

tashmead@health.usf.edu
Maya Balakrishnan, MD
Assistant Professor
TGH Neonatal Transport Director

mbalakri@health.usf.edu
Jane D. Carver, PhD, MS, MPH
Professor

jcarver@health.usf.edu
Michael Fant, MD, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics
Pathology & Cell Biology
Director, Neonatal-Perinatal Fellowship Program

mfant@health.usf.edu
Jaime Flores-Torres, MD
Assistant Professor

jflorest@health.usf.edu
Russell S. Kirby, PhD, MS
Marrell Endowed Chair
Professor of Community & Family Health and Pediatrics
Director, Florida Birth Defects Registry

rkirby@health.usf.edu
Janet E. Sullivan, AuD, MS
Instructor
Director of Tampa General Hospital
Newborn Screening Program

jstockar@health.usf.edu
Ronald Sutsko, DO
Assistant Professor
Associate Program Director, Pediatric Residency

rsutsko@health.usf.edu

Nurse Practitioners

  Christina Barrera, ARNP
cbarrer1@health.usf.edu
Sherie Collins, NNP
Coordinator of Neonatal Nurse Practitioner Services

scollin2@health.usf.edu
Cynthia Dedrick, NNP
cdedrick@health.usf.edu
Jennifer DeVries, ARNP
devries2@health.usf.edu

Research and Administrative Staff

Judy Zaritt, RN, BSN, CCRC
Certified Clinical Research Coordinator
813-844-3046

jzaritt@health.usf.edu
  Desiree Cuesta Henderson
Fiscal & Business Specialist
813-974-4618

dhender1@health.
usf.edu 
  Marcia Kneusel, RNC
Research Nurse

mkneusel@health.usf.edu
  Stephanie Helms
Fellowship Coordinator
813-844-3437

shelms@health.usf.edu