Faculty and Staff

Our Providers

Akhil Maheshwari, MD
Professor of Pediatrics, Molecular Medicine, and Public Health
Pamela and Leslie Muma Endowed Chair in Neonatology
Chief, Division of Neonatology
Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Education

akhilm@health.usf.edu
Terri L. Ashmeade, MD
Associate Professor
Tampa General Hospital NICU Director

tashmead@health.usf.edu
Maya Balakrishnan, MD
Assistant Professor
TGH Neonatal Tranport Director

mbalakri@health.usf.edu
Jane D. Carver, PhD, MS, MPH
Professor

jcarver@health.usf.edu
Michael Fant, MD, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics
Pathology & Cell Biology
Director, Neonatal-Perinatal Fellowship Program

mfant@health.usf.edu
Jaime Flores-Torres, MD
Assistant Professor

jflorest@health.usf.edu
Russell S. Kirby, PhD, MS
Marrell Endowed Chair
Professor of Community & Family Health and Pediatrics
Director, Florida Birth Defects Registry

rkirby@health.usf.edu
Angel Luciano, MD
Associate Professor
TGH ECMO Director

aluciano@health.usf.edu
Janet E. Sullivan, AuD, MS
Instructor
Director of Tampa General Hospital
Newborn Screening Program

jstockar@health.usf.edu
Ronald Sutsko, DO
Assistant Professor
Associate Program Director, Pediatric Residency

rsutsko@health.usf.edu

Nurse Practitioners

Research and Administrative Staff

Judy Zaritt, RN, BSN, CCRC
Certified Clinical Research Coordinator
813-844-3046

jzaritt@health.usf.edu
  Desiree Cuesta Henderson
Fiscal & Business Specialist
813-974-4618

dhender1@health.
usf.edu 
  Marcia Kneusel, RNC
Research Nurse

mkneusel@health.usf.edu
  Stephanie Helms
Fellowship Coordinator
813-844-3437

shelms@health.usf.edu