Benefits & Salary

Benefits Overview 2014-2015

Health Insurance (United Health Care Choice Plus)

  • Single: free
  • Married: $50/month to cover spouse
  • $75/month to cover entire family

    Life Insurance

  • $50,000 term policy provided free of charge

    Vacation

  • 15 days per year

    Maternity/Paternity Leave

  • Provided
  • Disability Insurance

  • Provided free of charge

    Sick Leave

  • 9 days per year

    Conference Leave

  • 5 days per year
  • Travel funds provided if presenting
  • Paid Holidays 2014-2015

    Residents enjoy the following nine (9) holidays and two (2) floating holidays in addition to annual leave. Resident call is not affected and is scheduled business as usual on these holidays. In addition, residents scheduled at training sites that do not recognize these holidays are expected to work on those days:

    • Independence Day (Friday, July 4, 2014)
    • Labor Day (Monday, Sept. 1, 2014)
    • Veterans Day (Tuesday, Nov. 11, 2014)
    • Thanksgiving Day (Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014)
    • Friday after Thanksgiving (Friday, Nov. 28, 2014)
    • Christmas Eve (Wednesday, Dec. 24, 2014)
    • Christmas Day (Thursday, Dec. 25, 2014)
    • New Year's Eve (Wednesday, Dec. 31, 2014)
    • New Year's Day (Thursday, Jan. 1, 2015)
    • Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday (Monday, Jan. 19, 2015)
    • Memorial Day (Monday, May 25, 2015)
    USF Employee Perks and Discounts

    Resident Salary Schedule 2013-2014

    University of South Florida (Internal Medicine-Pediatric) residents receive a generous compensation package. Salaries are targeted at a level well above the national average and the comprehensive health insurance is a model for programs around the country:

    Level Annual Salary Biweekly Salary
    PGY-1 $48,024 $1,840.00
    PGY-2 $49,547 $1,898.35
    PGY-3 $51,178 $1,960.84
    PGY-4 $52,990 $2,030.27
    PGY-5 $55,000 $2,107.28
    PGY-6 $56,179 $2,152.45
    PGY-7 $59,197 $2,268.08

     

    2014-2015 USF GME Handbook

    2014-2015 USF Housestaff Officer Contract